1930 the municipal plants at North Battleford and Swift Current were acquired, and in 1931 the generating plant at Willow Bunch was added. The Watrous-Nokomis system, which includes ten towns and villages, was also purchased from Canadian Utilities Ltd., and has been connected with the Bulyea system of the Montreal Engineering Co. Ltd.

Transmission lines run from Saskatoon, as the centre of the main system, easterly to Humboldt, northerly to Shellbrook and Duck Lake, westerly to Radisson, and southwesterly to Rosetown. Supplementary lines link Rosetown with Moose Jaw, and Tisdale, where the Commission has a generating plant, with Nipawin. All transmission lines supply towns and villages along their courses. There are now 1,307 miles of transmission lines owned and operated.

The Commission purchases several blocks of power or contracts for the interchange of power from private interests in addition to energy generated at its own plants. The number of consumers served directly in 116 towns and villages is approximately 8,200 and those indirectly served (where the cities operate the distribution systems) number 16,124. The total plant investment as at Dec. 31, 1931, was approximately \$7,200,000.

British Columbia.—British Columbia as a province has not, up to the present time, established any commissions for the development and use of water power for the distribution of electrical energy. Such power developments as have been undertaken to date have been by private interests or by municipalities. A Commission called the Water Board regulates the rates which are charged by public utility companies.